The three Cooper brothers Bill, Jack & Jim started a small factory in Royal Parade, Parkville, selling and installing clotheslines post-war in 1947. They could only buy a certain amount at a time due to lack of materials available to purchase.
Eventually, the boys opened up 2 hardware stores in Murray Rd, Preston and Sydney Rd, Coburg.
Jim & Bill returned to clotheslines and operated in Plenty Rd, Preston until Jim retired in the early 1980s. Bill and son Neil then moved the clothesline business to 108 Bell St, Preston in 1982.
Bill & Neil continued to grow the Cooper’s business to what it has become today. Neil and wife Gaye continued the tradition with over 30 years of experience in the industry. Now daughter Megan and her husband Brent run the business at the current location 162 Grange Road, Fairfield.
Cooper’s Clothes Lines is one of the longest running businesses in this industry and with this comes the exceptional knowledge of our products and a passion for our business.
We love what we do and respect our history and pride ourselves on service and knowledge.
Got a clothesline question? Click here to ask the clothesline experts!